Valencia High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Girls Sports » GIRLS SPORTS

GIRLS SPORTS

Since capturing its first CIF-SS title in Boys Cross Country in 1977, the Valencia High School athletic program continues to make a name for itself throughout Orange County. While academics remains a constant emphasis at Valencia High School, the school is proud of its athletic program's success. To date the school has won 285 league championships, 17 CIF-SS championships, been CIF-SS Runner-up 30 times, captured 36 Individual CIF-SS championships 6 CIF Masters Championships 1 CIF-State Runner-up and 6 Individual CIF-State championships.

 

Valencia High School opened its doors in the Fall of 1933, and its boys' athletic teams became a member of the CIF-SS that same year, fielding teams in football, basketball, baseball and track. Today, the boys' compete in 13 sports.

 

From 1935 to 1976 girls' athletics competed in the Girls Athletic Association or "G.A.A" , they fielded teams in basketball, field hockey, volleyball, badminton, and tennis. In 1977 girls' athletics became a member of the CIF-SS and today they compete in 11 sports.

 

Although both the boys and girls teams had some success from 1933-1979, it has been from 1980 till today that the school and its athletic programs have made their mark in Orange County. Competing first in the Orange League and now in the Empire League, the boys and girls programs have combined to win 251 League Championship, 16 CIF Championships, 30 CIF Runner-Up titles, 36 Individual CIF Championships 6 CIF Masters Championships 1 CIF-State Runner-Up and 6 Individual CIF-State Championships.

Fall Sports
Head Coaches Name Sport Extension  E mail
Nicole Soukup Cheer   nsoukup@pylusd.org
Jason Gray
Football
  jgray@pylusd.org
Joshua Lay Boys Cross Country   jlay@pylusd.org
Ed Garcia Girls Cross Country   ged58@yahoo.com
James Thorne
Girls Volleyball
  jthorne@pylusd.org
Jason Marganian Boys Water Polo   jmarganian@pylusd.org
Albert Lai Girls Tennis   alai@pylusd.org
Mark Castillo Girls Golf   mcastillo@pylusd.org
Winter Sports
Frank Lopez Girls Basketball   flopez415@aol.com
Dean Yoshimura Boys Basketball   dyoshimura@pylusd.org
Alejandra Nunez Girls Soccer    aljndnun@aol.com
Barry Gardner Boys Soccer    bgardner@pylusd.org
David Quintero Wrestling    dquintero@pylusd.org
Sarah Schnebly Girls Water Polo  
Spring Sports
Mo Lenjavi
Boys Lacrosse
  mlenjavi@pylusd.org
John Van Dam Girls Lacrosse   jvandam@pylusd.org
Joshua Lay Boys Track and Field   jlay@pylusd.org
Ed Garcia Girls Track and Field   ged58@pylusd.org
Sarah Schnebly
Girls Swimming
  sschnebly@pylusd.org
Jason Marganian
Boys Swimming
  jmarganian@pylusd.org
Krissy Hoggatt Softball   khoggatt@pylusd.org
Joe Secoda Baseball   jsecoda@pylusd.org
James Thorne Boys Volleyball   jthorne@pylusd.org
Albert Lai Boys Tennis   Albertlai21@gmail.com
Mark Castillo Boys Golf   mcastillo@pylusd.org

Non-Discrimination Statement

The Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified School District prohibits discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying in all district activities, programs, and employment based upon actual or perceived gender, gender identity, gender expression, race, ethnicity, color, religion, ancestry, nationality, national origin, ethnic group identification, immigration status, sex, sexual orientation, marital or parental status, pregnancy, age, physical or mental disability or on the basis of a person’s association with a person or group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. Reference: BP 0410; 1312.3; 4111.1; 5145.3; 5145.7; 4119.11/4219.11/4319.11
 
Compliance Officer for Complaints. Employee complaint: Rick Lopez, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources (714) 985-8408. Title IX Sexual Harassment and any other discrimination complaints: Cary Johnson, Director, Educational Services (714) 985-8656. Americans with Disabilities Act complaints: Richard McAlindin, Executive Director, Instructional Support (714) 985-8727. Bullying, intimidation complaints: Rick Riegel, Administrator, Student Services (714) 985-8671
 
Procedure for Complaints. Uniform Complaint Policy Form 1312.3 (English), 1312.3 (Spanish). Williams Uniform Complaint Procedures Form 1312.4 (English) and 1312.4 (Spanish)
 
El Distrito Escolar Unificado Placentia-Yorba Linda, prohíbe la discriminación, acoso, intimidación, hostigamiento en todas las actividades, programas y empleo del distrito en base a género real o percibido, identificación de género, expresión de género, raza, etnia, color, religión ascendencia, nacionalidad, origen nacional, identificación de grupo étnico, estado de inmigración, sexo, orientación sexual, estatus marital o parental, embarazo, edad discapacidad física o mental o en base a la asociación de la persona con una persona o grupo, con una o más de estas características reales o percibidas. Referencia: BP 0410; 1312.3; 4111.1; 5145.3; 5145.7; 4119.11/4219.11/4319.11.
 
Quejas de empleados: Rick Lopez, Asistente de Superintendente, Recursos Humanos (714) 985-8408. Titulo IX Acoso Sexual y cualquier otra queja de discriminación: Cary Johnson, Director, Servicios Educativos (714) 985-8656. Americanos con Discapacidades Acta de quejas: Richard McAlindin, Director Ejecutivo, Apoyo Educativo (714) 985-8727. Quejas de acoso, intimidación: Rick Riegel, Administrador, Servicios Estudiantiles (714) 985-8671

Employee/Student Non-Fraternization Policy: BP 4101